2016 In Review

2016 was a bad year for a lot of people.  A gorilla became the Smells Like Teen Spirit of memes,propelling meme culture into the mainstream, meaning any day in 2017 we can expect to see Harambe or Pepe The Frog on a t-shirt in Wal-Mart, countless celebrities were ruthlessly murdered by a cold gang of mostly even numbers, Vine is dead, and we learned a Pennsylvania driver’s license is no longer a valid form of federal identification.  I can’t think of anything worse than those things.

pepe

Nope. Nothing

But for me, a straight, cis-gendered, white male, life just keeps on turning.  In fact, I was offered 4 CEO positions this week.

But getting on track, 2016 was an eventful year.  2016 was the year I was first published, getting two poems into Word Fountain.  It’s a high I have yet to come down from, and will be even harder because I am getting published yet again with Word Fountain, which you will be able to find in early 2017, because I will be linking the hell out of it.

Sometime in 2011, I started writing the first pages of a book in the back of a notebook that was supposed to be used for Political Geography class. In short, I hope those pages are missing for good.  I had the story beats in my head, but I didn’t have the discipline to put them to paper.  After graduating college in December of 2014, I decided to put up or shut up.  I began writing.  21 months later, I punched the last words in on my computer. I began editing it in December.  Is it good?  There are parts I am still happy with, but I have found myself doing a lot of rewriting or flat-out omitting passages.  I have come a long way from those first chapters, and I hope to have a beta-readable product for summer.

I moved!  Although I should say we.  My girlfriend, Danielle, who I make sure to name drop in just about every post I make because she is the fore-front thought on my mind every day, and I moved into a nice little 2 bedroom not too far from where we both lived.  We live with our cat/son Loki.  We have next door neighbors whose only volume is 11.  We moved in November, and besides the classic toilet-seat-position argument, I would say things are going well.

Danielle started a small business!   She has been crafting since 2015.  She started off by making clothes, her first successful craft being a dress.  In 2016, however, she set her focus on embroidery hoop designs and decided to open up shop.  You can find her Etsy shop, Dirigible Plums Shop (for you Harry Potter fans) in the hyperlink.  She can do designs on any clothing item, or she can do an embroidery design for you to hang up.  My personal favorite of hers is the embroidery hoop clock.

wineoclock

And yes, she could do numbers too. 

I will also link to her shop’s Instagram, @dirigible.plums.shop, as well as Facebook.  If you see her links from here and buy something, tell her Jan sent you.

A year end summation post would be empty without me telling you the things I want to do in 2017, otherwise called resolutions.  First, I want to get back into running.  In high school, I could do a 6 minute mile with no prior training.  If I tried that now my body would curl up like a pretzel and I would probably vomit.  I don’t want to do a marathon or anything.  At most, I would like to run a 5k.  My second resolution is writing based; I want to write a screenplay.  I’ve been reading a lot about screenplays and narrative craft, and I would love to write one just to say I did.  I have a couple ideas tossing around, and I hope to work on them while I edit my book and, potentially, start writing my second.

And not necessarily a resolution, but I want to see Dirigible Plums a Fortune 500 company by 2017’s end.

One thought on “2016 In Review

Leave a Reply

